According to a report by the personal finance website WalletHub, Texas is listed dead last among all states and the District of Columbia on a combined score of punishment for speeding and reckless driving. To compose its report, WalletHub collected data on twelve different measures and then totaled the points. The states with the highest number of points were deemed strictest.
The strictest state is Colorado. In Colorado, speeding more than 25 mph over the speed limit is considered reckless driving. Additionally, Colorado utilizes speed cameras to automatically catch and fine speeding drivers. Texas, on the other hand, does not have any set speed that automatically constitutes reckless driving, nor does it employ speed cameras.
Further, Texas has ways to actually protect speeding drivers. There is a prima facie speed limit, which means that if a driver is caught exceeding the speed limit he can argue the speed was safe in the circumstances. The fines in Texas are low for reckless driving compared to other states; the minimum fine for first and second offenses is $200. Moreover, Texas is among the 37 states having no minimum jail time for either a first or second reckless driving offense. No states have mandatory jail time for speeding.
However, speeding is a serious contributory factor in car accidents. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), 80 people are killed each day on US roads. Thirty-one percent of car collision fatalities involve speeding. In comparison, drunk driving is a factor in 32 percent of car collision fatalities.
If you or someone you know was injured or killed in a car accident involving speeding or reckless driving, it is important to understand your right to recover. Contact an attorney at Abraham, Watkins, Nichols, Agosto, Aziz & Stogner by calling (713) 222-7211 or toll free at 713-222-7211 for a confidential consultation.